Rhodes Forum 2011

One of the main goals of the activity of World Public Forum “Dialogue of Civilizations” is to built an international dialogue community. This community is evolving in multiple public events organized by the Forum and its partners from different countries and regions of the world.

The International Coordination Committee (ICC) operates as a principal body of the Dialogue Community. The participants of the Committee represent the significant academic and political institutions, civil society organisations from all over the world. The ICC is actively involved in elaborating new projects, defining conference’s agendas, in setting basic guidelines of Forum’s activities.

The main rationale in the dialogue community activities can be seen in establishing new conceptual framework as counterweight to prevailing global tendencies, to the conventional manner of expressing the world problems in assessing the “threats from the Third World” and the “inevitability” of the clash of civilizations.

Experts and participants of the “Dialogue of Civilisations” strive to establish a new order based on mutual respect and opinion exchange across national borders. Our goal is to define the difference between so called “global values” and authentic, true moral values, to bring a non-Western perspective in concert with the main Western conceptions.

Phyllis Bennis, Director, New Internationalism Project, Institute for Policy Studies, USA
Sara Flounders, Co-Director, International Action Center, USA
Zhuo Xinping, Director, Institute of World Religions, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, member, Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress, China
Yu Xueming, Professor, Religious Studies and Chinese Philosophy, Vice-Dean, School of Humanities, Executive Vice-Dean, International Confucian Academy, Director, Institute of Religion and Law Studies, China University of Political Science and Law (CUPL),
Sienho Yee, Changjiang Xuezhe Professor and Chief Expert, Institute of International Law, Law School, Wuhan University, Editor-in-Chief, Chinese Journal of International Law, China
Xing Guangcheng, Director, Research Center for Chinese Borderland History and Geography (CASS), Director, Research Center for the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (CASS), Professor of Graduate School (CASS), China
Ghonchech Tazmini, Research Fellow, Institute for Strategic and International Studies, Portugal
Katerina Stenou, Cultural Policies and Intercultural Dialogue Director, United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organizations, UNESCO
Alexander Steinberger, Vice-Chairman, Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Austria
Sir Timothy Smit, businessman, Creator, Eden Project, Social Enterprise Ambassador, UK
Armen Sarkissian, President, Founder, Eurasia House International, UK
Joern Ruesen, Senior Fellow, The Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities at Essen, Germany
Theresa Okafor, Director, Foundation for African Cultural Heritage, Nigeria
Francisco Nunez, Founder and Artistic Director, Young People’s Chorus of NYC, USA
Seyed Javad Miri, Director of International Relations and Scientific Cooperation, Institute of Humanities and Cultural Studies, Sweden
Liao Shenbai, Vice-President, The Chinese Society of Ethics; Professor, Beijing Normal University, China
Carlos Lessa, Emeritus Professor, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro; Former Rector, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Joanna Lee, Founder, Museworks Limited, USA
Peter Van Krieken, Chair, Röling Foundation; Professor, Webster/Hague University, Netherlands
Dimitri Kitsikis, Honorary President, Dimitri Kitsikis Public Foundation; Professor, University of Ottawa, Greece
Gholamali Khoshroo, Ambassador to the United Nations of the Islamic Republic of Iran
Boris Kapustin, Professor, Program in Ethics, Politics, and Economics, Yale University, USA
Yahya Kamalipour, Founder and Chair, Global Communication Association; Director, Center for Global Studies, Purdue University Calumet, USA
Hui Wang, Rector, Tsinghua Institute for Advanced Study in Humanities and Social Sciences, China
Sergey Horujy, Senior research fellow, Professor, Institute of Philosophy of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
Sergey Glaziev, Adviser of the President of Russian Federation, Russia
Michael Depledge, Chair, Advisory Board, European Center for Environment and Human Health, Visiting Professor, Department of Zoology, Oxford University, former Commissioner, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution, UK
Darc Costa, President, Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry of South America – Federasul, Brazil
Liu Changle, Vice Chairman of the Executive Committee, Nishan Forum on World Civilizations; Chairman & CEO, Phoenix Satellite Television Holdings Ltd., China
Allan Carlson, President, The Howard Center, Director, The Family in America Studies Center, Editor, The Family in America, USA
Joseph Camilleri, Professor, Director, Centre for Dialogue, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Centre for Dialogue, La Trobe University, Australia
Vanessa Bassil, Founder & President, Media Association for Peace (MAP), Leader, MasterPeace Club of Lebanon, Reporter & Producer, Arab Woman TV, Writer, Common Ground News Service, Lebanon
Asma Afsaruddin, Professor of Islamic Studies and Chair, Department of Near Eastern Languages & Cultures, Indiana University, USA
Syed Farid Alatas, Head, Department of Malay Studies, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Sarah McKinley (USA), Principle Investigator, Progressive Cities/Neighborhood Planning Collection
Nico Raabe (Germany), Engagement Manager, McKinsey & Company, Inc
M.R.E. Theodore Baehr (USA), Chairman, Movieguide (r)/ Christian Film & Television Commission
Anatoly Antonov (Russia), Head of Department, Professor, Moscow State “Lomonosov” University, Faculty of Sociology
Elena Shapovalova (Ukraine), Assistant Professor, V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University International Economic Relations and Tourism Business Department
Grigory Ivliev (Russia), Senior Lecturer, High School of cultural politic and humanitarian management, Moscow State University
Mattar Kawla (Egypt), Director, United Nations Information Center (Cairo)
Vladimir Silovyev (Russia), Priest, Dean, the Church of the most Orthodox Prince St. Alexander Nevsky in Kozhukhovo
Ambassador Michael Tay (Singapore), Executive Director of Russia-Singapore Business Forum (RSBF)
Crouse Janice Shaw (USA), Senior Fellow – The Beverly LaHaye Institute, Concerned Women for America, Former Academic Dean, Debate Coach, Professor of Rhetoric"
Gilbert L. Crouse (USA), Senior Economist/Office of the Secretary/ASPE, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Former Economics Professor, Fulbright Scholar
Samira Ismailova (Germany), Executive Director, KAD e. V. and DAF e.V.
Mikhail Freidlin (Ukraine), Director of Municipal Enterprise “Agency for Odessa Development Programmes
Pasquale Policastro (Poland), Professor, Vice-President of IALANA (International Association of Lawyers Against Nuclear Arms, Szczecin University"
Jean-Charles Ducene (Belgium), Lecturer, Universite libre, Brussel
Alice Drooghmans (Germany/Belgium), Director, Drooghmans Int. Communications "